Unibetr International Hurdle History

The International takes place at Cheltenham between Friday 11th and Saturday 12th December, with the Unibet International Hurdle being one of the key races over the two days. The £130,000 Grade Two event is a leading trial for the Stan James Champion Hurdle at The Cheltenham Festival in March.

About Cheltenham Racecourse

Cheltenham Racecourse is situated in Prestbury on  the outskirts of the historic spa town of Cheltenham. The Home of  Jump Racing,  Cheltenham  Racecourse is  the venue for the world’s  pre-eminent  Jump meeting, The Festival, which takes  place in  March over four days every year. Set against the beautiful backdrop of  the Cotswolds,  Cheltenham  Racecourse is a stunning  natural  arena and offers the highest- quality action throughout the Jump season.

Unibet International Hurdle: A Brief History

The Unibet International  Hurdle was first  run in 1963,  when Scottish Memories was the winner,  and since that race there have been 47 runnings,  with the race abandoned five times.  Two   runnings  took place  at other courses than Cheltenham: 2001 (Newbury) and 2008 (Ascot).

Up  until  1977, the prestigious  contest was called  the Cheltenham  Trial Hurdle. After the death of successful horse Bula, the race was renamed the Bula Hurdle. StanJames sponsored the renamed ‘International’ in 2010 as part of its Road to Cheltenham.

Unibet International Hurdle: Stats and Facts

Shortest priced winners – Comedy of Errors (1973), The New One (2013) – 2/5

Longest priced winner – Solway Sands (1968) – 33/1

Multiple Winners – Bird’s Nest (1977, 78, 80), Relkeel (1997, 98, 99), Comedy of Errors (1973, 74), Large Action (1994, 96), The New One (2013, 2014)

Multiple Winning Trainers – Bob  Turnell, Oliver Sherwood, Philip Hobbs, Nicky Henderson and Nigel Twiston-Davies (Three Times each)

Most Wins by a Jockey – Richard Johnson (5 wins)

Largest Field – 10 (1977)

Smallest Field – Four (1966, 1974, 2001, 2006)

Unibet International Hurdle: Roll of Honour (2004-2014)

Year Winning Horse Age/Weight Trainer Jockey Starting Price Ran
2014 The New One 6-11-08 Nigel Twiston-Davies Sam Twiston-Davies 4/7f 8
2013 The New One 5-11-08 Nigel Twiston-Davies Sam Twiston-Davies 2/5f 7
2012 Zarkander 5-11-04 Paul Nicholls Ruby Walsh 6/5f 7
2011 Grandouet 4-11-04 Nicky Henderson Barry Geraghty 5/2f 8
2010 Menorah 5-11-04 Philip Hobbs Richard Johnson 7/4f 9
2009 Khyber Kim 7-11-04 Nigel Twiston-Davies Paddy Brennan 12/1 7
2008 Binocular 4-11-04 Nicky Henderson Tony McCoy EVSf 5
2007 Osana 5-11-00 David Pipe Paddy Brennan 7/1 8
2006 Detroit City 4-11-04 Philip Hobbs Richard Johnson 4/6f 4
2005 Harchibald 6-11-08 Noel Meade Paul Carberry 10/11f 9
2004 Back In Front 7-11-08 Edward O’Grady Davy Russell 5/2f 7


Click here for the latest racing betting

New to Unibet? Open an account here

By |December 9th, 2015|